Kinfolk - Postcards From Everywhere

Kinfolk – Postcards From Everywhere


Format: CD

In stock

Format: CD
Grade: New (About gradings)
SKU: 99894
Bookmark and Share

Drummer Nate Smith’s debut as bandleader comes in the form of the wonderful ‘Kinfolk: Postcards From Everywhere’. The title gives a hint at the musical content: Jazz drawing on a diverse but cohesive and blend of styles and influences. The swaggering groove laden ‘Skip Step’ has a headhunters type bass with Jazz Funk tones, ‘Bounce Pts 1 & 2’ a funky head nodder while ‘Spinning Down’ is an expansive, slow burner. Gretchen Parlato’s sweet tones grace the organic jazzy soul of ‘Pages’, ‘Morning And Allison’ is a wonderful warm and compressed summery vocal jazz tune while the big, bold ‘Disenchantment: The Weight’ features ‘Amma Whatt’ also shines. One of the best of the moment.

Track listing:

  • 01 Intro: Wish You Were Here by Nate Smith
  • 02 Skip Step by Nate Smith
  • 03 Bounce: pts I + II by Nate Smith
  • 04 Mom: Postcards from Detroit/Floyd/Salem by Nate Smith
  • 05 Retold by Nate Smith
  • 06 Disenchantment: The Weight (feat. Amma Whatt) by Nate Smith
  • 07 Spinning Down by Nate Smith
  • 08 Pages (feat. Gretchen Parlato) by Nate Smith
  • 09 From Here – Interlude by Nate Smith
  • 10 Morning and Allison by Nate Smith
  • 11 Spiracles by Nate Smith
  • 12 Small Moves – Interlude by Nate Smith
  • 13 Dad: Postcards From Isaac Street by Nate Smith
  • 14 Home Free (for Peter Joe) by Nate Smith


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kinfolk – Postcards From Everywhere”